Dharmapala Thangka CentreTibetische Antiquitäten


Avalokiteshvara Tsa Tsa

Chenresig Semnyid Ngalso

Vorderseite Seitenansicht Rückseite

Dieses seltene Tsa Tsa zeigt eine spezielle Form des zweiarmigen Avalokiteshvara [tibetisch: spyan ras gzigs, སྤྱན་རས་གཟིགས]. In Übersetzung des Sanskrit wird diese Form von den Tibetern als «Chen-resig Semnyid Ngalso» [Der in entspannter Gemütshaltung verweilende Chenresig] bezeichnet.

Der Bodhisattva sitzt in lockerer Sitzhaltung mit dem linken, lose herabhängenden Bein [Skt. «Ardhaparyangka»] auf einem einstufigen Lotosthron. Rechts neben ihm ist noch ein Stupa zu erkennen.

Der Vajra / Dorje in der rechten Hand passt eigentlich nicht zu einer Chenresig Darstellung. Es kann deshalb auch sein, dass es sich bei der Darstellung im die hinduistische Gottheit Indra handelt. Es gibt aber immer wieder lokale Abweichungen von der tibetischen Ikonographie die in diesem Fall doch die ursprüngliche Bodhisattva Identifizierung als zutreffend begründen könnte.

Die hellen Farbtupfer sind ein Indiz dafür, dass das Tsa Tsa einmal auf einem Stupa gelegen hat. Bei der regelmäßigen Erneuerung des weißen Anstrichs läßt sich häufig nicht vermeiden, dass die niedergelegten Tsa Tsas einige Farbspritzer davontragen.

Die stark verwitterte, unlesbare Inschrift auf der linken Seite lässt eine Schrift vermuten die der indischen Kutila Schrift ähnelt, die vom 8. - 12. Jh. verwendet wurde. Das würde zu der Schätzung eines Experten passen, der dieses Tsa Tsa zeitlich in die Yuan Dynastie 1279 - 1368 einordnete. Wie bei fast allen zeitlichen Schätzungen von Tsa Tsas ist dies aber nicht gesichert und kann deshalb auch nicht garantiert werden.

Herkunft und Alter: Tibet 12. / 13. Jh. - [unsichere Bestimmung]


EigenschaftWert
Maße: 5.5 x 5.3 x 3.0 cm
Preis: 190 €
Versand: Paketversand aus Deutschland
Material: Gebrannter Lehm
Download: Hohe Auflösung [0.5 MB, 2324 x 2356 px.]
Nachfrage / Bestellung

Dharmapala Thangka CentreTibetan Antiques


Avalokiteshvara Tsa Tsa

Chenresig Semnyid Ngalso

Front Side Side View Back

This rare tsa tsa shows a special form of the two-handed Avalokiteshvara [Tibetan: spyan ras gzigs, སྤྱན་རས་གཟིགས] sitting a single layered lotus throne. In translation of Sanskrit, this form is called »Chen-resig Semnyid Ngalso» [The Chenresig dwelling in a relaxed state of mind] by the Tibetans.

The Bodhisattva is sitting in a relaxed sitting posture with the left [Skt. «Ardhaparyangka»] leg hanging loosely down on a single layered lotus throne. To the right of him a Stupa is shown.

In the right hand he is wearing a vajra / dorje. He rests his left hand relaxed behind his left bent leg. The typical, only slightly accentuated posture supports the casual charisma.

The vajra / dorje in the right hand does not really fit into a Chenresig representation. It is therefore also possible that the representation is of the Hindu deity Indra. However, there are always local deviations from the Tibetan iconography, which in this case could justify the original bodhisattva identification as correct.

The bright spots of colour are an indication that the Tsa Tsa was originally located on a stupa. When the white paint is renewed regularly, it is often unavoidable that the laid down Tsaas get some paint splashes.

The heavily weathered, illegible inscription on the left side suggests a script similar to the Indian Kutila script used from the 8th - 12th centuries. This would fit the estimate of an expert who placed this Tsa Tsa chronologically in the Yuan Dynasty 1279 - 1368. As with almost all temporal estimates of Tsa Tsas, however, this is not certain and can therefore not be guaranteed.

Origin and Age: Tibet 12th / 13th century - [uncertain determination]


PropertyValue
Measurements: 2.2 x 2.1 x 1.2 " | 5.5 x 5.3 x 3.0 cm
Price: 213 $ | 190 €
Shipment: Parcel Service from Germany
Material: Burned Clay
Download: High resolution [0.5 MB, 1740 x 1788 px.]
Inquiry / Order