Dharmapala Thangka CentreTibetan Antiques

Buddha Crown of the Five Tathagatas

Full View Ratnasambhava Akshobyha Vairocana Amogasiddhi Amitabha Back

Each of the five registers contains one of the Tathagata [also called Dhyani] Buddhas [left to right]: Ratnasambhava [yellow], Amitabha [red], Vairochana [white], Amoghasiddhi [green], and Akshobhya [blue].

A fine, five Buddhas crown made of gilt and coloured papiermache with cloth backing. Each Buddha rendered with his special attributes accordning to his iconography.

Ritual crowns of this type were used in various Tantric Buddhist ceremonies including those of yidam-initiation [personal deity] and homa [fire ritual], both important practices in the Esoteric Buddhist tradition of Tibet and Mongolia.

Such crowns were worn also by monks conducting rituals and were often part of dance costumes used in public ceremonial performances on monastery yards.

The Five Buddhas, Vairocana, Rathasambhava, Amoghasiddhi, Amitabha and Akshobya each represents a special Buddhafamily and a direction as well. As such they are common to many mandalas.

Above each Buddha its corresponding syllable is shown in Lhantsa script and below its respective assigned symbol.


Tibet, late 19th 20th cent.

Measurements: 7.3 x 19.7 " | 18,5 x 50,0 cm
Price: on request