Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting


Thangka Raster

Raster eines Buddha Kopfes Verschiedene Teile einer Buddha Figur Ikonometrisches Raster des sitzenden Buddhas Fertige Skizze Grüne Tara Raster Raster 'Leben Buddhas'

Der Thangka Maler benötigt eine genaue Kenntnis der in jahrhundertealten ikonographischen Regeln festgehaltenen Proportionen und Maße der Figuren eines Tangkas für eine erste Skizze des Bildes.

Der Pantheon des tibetischen Buddhismus umfaßt Tausende verschiedener Figuren. Kein noch so erfahrener Künstler kann alle Charakteristiken jeder Gottheit kennen. Ein Koordinatenraster dient deshalb in vielen Fällen als Hilfsmittel für ein freies Vorzeichnen der Hauptfiguren.

Grundschema eines solchen Rasters bilden eine mittlere Senkrechte und zwei Diagonalen, deren Kreuzungspunkt die Bildmitte ergibt. Dazu kommen [je nach Art des Bildes] Kreise und Verbindungslinien, die zusammen bereits einen groben Eindruck der spaeteren Figur vermitteln.

Das Raster unterteilt das Gesamtbild in Segmente, die in festgelegten Relationen zueinander stehen. Soll z.b. ein Bild in dreifacher Größe zum vorliegenden Ratser entstehen, sind lediglich diese Maßeinheiten des Vorlage-Rasters auf dem Original zu verdreifachen. So können exakte Abbildungen unterschiedlicher Größen unter Beibehaltung der vorgeschriebenen Proportionen hergestellt werden.

EigenschaftWert
Download: Hohe Auflösung [1.72 MB, 2000 x 2431 px.]

Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting


Sketching of Thangkas

Sketching of Buddhas Head Different parts of  Buddha's body Proportional grid of seated Buddha Finished sketch Green Tara sketch Life of Buddhas sketch

Sketching the thangkas To sketch the figures in a Thangka, the artist must be an expert in the measurements and proportions of Buddhas, Boddhisattvas and deities, as outlined in Buddhist iconography.

The pantheon of Tibetan Buddhism includes thousands of different figures. No artist, however experienced, can know all the characteristics of each deity. A grid of coordinates therefore serves in many cases as an aid for a free sketch of the main figures.

In The basic scheme of such a grid is a central vertical and two diagonals, the intersection of which forms the center of the picture. In addition, [depending on the type of picture] circles and connecting lines are added, which together already give a rough impression of the later figure.Thangkas having more than one figure, there will be additional circles and connecting lines, to contrast the main icon with the background figure.

The grid divides the overall picture into segments, which stand in fixed relations to each other. If, for example, a picture is to be created in triple the size of the present Raster, only these units of the original raster must be tripled on the original.

The following pages should give you an impression of the thangkask sketches.

PropertyValue
Download: High resolution [1.2 MB, 2109 x 2500 px.]