Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting


Verschiedene Arten von Thangkas [3]

Appliziert

Full  View Detail 1

Applikations Thangkas werden nicht gemalt, sondern aus einzelnen Stoffstücken zusammmengesetzt (appliziert). Diesen Typus finden wir besonders bei den riesigen Thangkas [12 x 18 m und größer], die früher anläßlich bestimmter Feiertage an den Thangamauern der Klöster herabgelassen wurden.

Dieser Typ [tib.: dras-drab-ma, gos-sku] zählt zu den ausgesprochen tibetischen Stilvarianten, wie Textzeugnisse vor dem 17. Jh. belegen. Stoffstückchen - meistens aus Seide, die traditionell aus China oder auch aus Indien importiert wurde - werden auf die gewünschte Größe zugeschnitten, gefärbt und nebeneinander gelegt, so daß sie eine Art Mosaik bilden.

Die Stücke sind entweder auf einem Unterstoff festgenäht oder aneinandergeheftet. Bänder aus Goldbrokat oder Leder, manchmal aus Pferde- oder Yakhaar, das mit Goldfäden durchsetzt ist, verbergen die Säume und umschließen die Konturen. Einige Details sind gestickt oder sogar aufgemalt. Ein Rahmen, ähnlich dem der gemalten Thangkas, gibt dem fertigen Werk den nötigen Halt.

Quelle: Mongolia, the legacy of Chingis Khan, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, 1996, Seite 238

Dharmapala Thangka CentreIconography


Various types of Thangkas [3]

Application

Full  View Detail 1

Applications Thangkas [Tib.: dras-drab-ma, gos-sku] are not painted. They consist of many single pieces of cloth. We find this category especially among the giant Thangkas [36 x 54 feet / 12 x 18 m and more], which are hung down on special large Thangka walls of the monasteries on special festival days.

This type of Thangka is a particularly Tibetan style, as testified to in pre 17th century texts. Fragments of cloth of various colors - most often silks, traditionally imported from China or even from India - are cut into desired shapes and juxtaposed to form a kind of mosaic.” The pieces are either sewn onto a background or to each other.

Rigid bands of golden binding, made of leather or sometimes of horse or yak hair mixed with threads of gold, hide the seams and circle the contours. Certain details are embroidered or even painted on. A frame or border similar to those of painted Thangkas gives further sup-port for the finished work.

Source: Mongolia, the legacy of Chingis Khan, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, 1996, page 238