Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting


Das Leben des Buddha Shakyamuni

1. Geburtsort

Die buddhistische Bücher geben als Geburtsort des Shakyamuni den Garten von Lumbini von Kapilvastu an. In der buddhistischen Literatur gibt es keine vollständige Biographie des Shakyamuni. Es ist deshalb notwendig, sie aus Fragmenten in verschiedenen Dokumenten zusammenzusetzen. Die Realität ist dabei durch einen Nebel von Legenden umgeben. Das Leben des Shakya wird durch die buddhistische Theologen in zwölf "Handlungen", die nach Nord-Buddhisten wie folgt zusammenfassen kann unterteilt:

3. Empfängnis

alt=Maha Maya träumte, dass ein weißer Elefant mit sechs Stoßzähnen in ihre rechte Seite eindrang, ohne Schmerzen zu verursachen. Dies wurde dahingehend interpretiert, dass sie ein Kind gezeugt hatte, das entweder ein Weltherrscher oder ein Buddha werden würde.

4. Geburt

alt=Zehn Monate später tauchte der Buddha an der Seite seiner Mutter, die an einen Baum gelehnt stand, in einer schmerzlosen und reinen Geburt auf. Er machte sieben Schritte und Lotusblumen sprangen in seinen Fußstapfen auf. Ein weiser Mann sagte voraus, dass dieses Kind entweder ein großer weltlicher Herrscher oder ein großer religiöser Führer sein würde. Seine Geburt ist von verschiedenen Wunden begleitet und wird von Brahma, Indra und anderen hinduistischen Gottheiten verehrt.

5. Ausbildung

alt=Trotz der übernatürlichen Kräfte dieses Kindes, das zum Zeitpunkt seiner Geburt bereits sieben Schritte in die vier Himmelsrichtungen entsprechend den vier Elend des Lebens macht, erhält es die Ausbildung eines Fürsten. Sieben Tage nach seiner Geburt stirbt seine Mutter. Prinz Siddhartha wird zunächst zu seiner Tante, Mahaprajapati und danach zur Schule gebracht. Es jedoch verblüfft er alle seine Meister durch das Rezitieren von Texten, die sie eigentlich ihm im Unterricht beibringen wollten. In gleicher Weise erweist er sich beim Sport herausragende. Dennoch durchzieht Melancholie sein Wesen, und er gibt sich mehr und mehr der Meditation hin.

6. Heimliche Ausfahrten

alt=Um seine Trauer zu zerstreuen kommen seine Eltern auf die Idee, ihm eine Frau zu besorgen. So heiratet er eine Prinzessin aus dem Kiloya Clan, denen die buddhistischen Texte die Name "Yasoda" oder "Gopa" zuzuschreiben. Mit ihr wird er der Vater eines Sohnes mit Namen Rahula. Aber weder die Freuden des Ehelebens, noch das Vergnügen im Harem, noch seine Liebe zu seinem Sohn können die philosophischen und moralischen Sorgen jungen Prinzen Sorgen beheben. Die Entwicklung seines Denkens ist in der Legende von der Schule der "vier Sitzungen" vertreten.

alt=Von der Frage nach dem Sinn des Lebens geplagt, verlässt Siddhartha in seinem Wagen die Stadt und trifft auf einen alten Mann, dessen altersschwache Ausstrahlung ihn beeindruckt. Wir leben also, um alt und altersschwach zu werden!', ruft er. Im Laufe ähnlicher Wanderungen stößt er auf einen kranken Mann und einen Leichenzug. 'Das ist also das Leben', sinniert er, 'Leiden - und dann die endgültige Vernichtung!' Glücklicherweise zerstreut die vierte Begegnung seinen Pessimismus. Als er den Einsiedler sieht, der vollkommen ruhig in seiner Zurückgezogenheit lebt, vollkommen glücklich in seiner Kontemplation, erkennt der Prinz, dass der wahre Weg der Erlösung im Verzicht auf die Freuden des Lebens liegt, die Ursachen der drei großen Übel, Alter, Krankheit und Tod, und in der Hingabe an die Kontemplation, die einen von den Bindungen der Erde befreit.

7. Weltflucht

alt=Im Alter von neunundzwanzig oder dreißig Jahren verlässt Siddhartha heimlich den Palast, und lässt Frau und Kinder, Verwandten, Konkubinen und seinen ganzen Besitz zurück. Die Legende erzählt die Geschichte von seiner Reise etwas ausführlicher. Er begibt sich auf sein Pferd, Kanthaka unter dessen beschlagen Hufen die Götter ihre Hände halten damit der Lärm nicht die Wachen aufwecken. In gewissem Abstand von seiner Vaterstadt er tauscht er seine fürstliche Kleidung in grobe von orangene Farbe und schneidet sich die Haare. Von diesem Moment an führt Prinz Siddhartha den heiligen Namen des Shakyamuni oder Gautama. Er zieht aus, um das Heil zu suchen, aber wo soll er es finden.
In dieser Periode gibt es in Indien zahlreiche Sekten und Schulen mit metaphysischen, religiösen und mystischen Hintergrund. Unter den weit verbreitesten war die Schule der Sankhya, die die Lehre von der Erlösung aus dem Kreislauf der Geburten verbreitet und von allen Konfessionen in Indien anerkannt wurde. Nicht weniger bekannt war die Schule des Yoga, die aus der Sankhya Schule abgeleitet wurde. Sie stellte die asketische Seite der Lehre in den Mittelpunkt.
Als erstes wandte er sich an Meister Alara Kalama und wurde sein Schüler und folgte seinen Instruktionen mit Hingabe. Schon bald erreichte er in der Meditation auch das Stadium, das sein Meister verwirklicht hatte. Wenn er in solcher Meditation weilte, erfuhr er große Freude und Zufriedenheit, aber sobald er nach der Meditation wieder zum gewöhnlichen Bewusstsein zurückkehrte, musste er zu seiner großen Enttäuschung feststellen, dass die Probleme von Krankheit, Alter und Tod geblieben waren. Er bat Alara Kalama darum, ihm mehr beizubringen, aber der alte Weise hatte nichts weiter anzubieten. Ohne die großen Herausforderungen von Krankheit, Alter und Tod gemeistert zu haben, die ihn schließlich zu seiner Suche veranlasst hatten setzt er seine Fahrt und kommt zu Rajgriha, der Hauptstadt Königreich Magadha, wo er sich weigerte das Angebot des dortigen König Bimbisara zu folgen, der ihm seinen Thron anbietet.

8. Askese

alt=Die Legende zeigt uns, Shakyamuni, ermüdet von all diesen falschen Lehrern, die in der Abtötung des Körpers die Lösung der Probleme suchen. Er verlässt das Landes von Magadha, und zieht mit fünf Schülern in eine kleinen Ortschaft in der Nähe der Urubilva Gaya Wüste. Dort kasteit er sich sechs Jahre lang mit schmerzhaftesten Demütigungen. Er erreicht am Ende einen Zustand, in dem er lediglich ein einziges Reiskorn am Tag verzehrt und endet fast als lebendes Skeletts. Er erkennt bald, dass ihn auch diese extreme Lebensform ebenso wenig wie der sinnliche Überfluss an Vergnügungen, den er in seinem Elternhaus erfahren hatte zu seinem Ziel führen wird. Er findet er in der Askese keine Hilfe zur Lösung der Probleme der Metaphysik und Moralphilosophie. So ändert er sein System und kehrt zum normalen Leben zurück, was ihm die Verachtung seiner fünf Schülern einbringt, die ihn als Fresser und Lüstling stigmatisieren

9. Erleuchtung

alt=Unbeeindruckt von diesen Vorwürfen zieht Shakyamuni weiter, und erreicht die Stadt mit dem Namen ‚Bodh-Gaya'. Er setzt er sich am Fuße eines Baumes und erklärt, dass, obwohl sein Körper in dieser Position der Meditation verkümmern kann, er solange weiter meditieren wird, bis er die "Bodhi" oder perfekte Kenntnisse erlangt hat. Und eines Nachts geschieht das Wunder, Shakyamuni hat die Bodhi erreicht, eine innere Erleuchtung legt alles offen sein Verständnis. Nacheinander gewinnt er [1] das Wissen der früheren Existenz, [2] die Zerstörung der bösen Lüste, [3] Wissen über die Nexus [Inkarnation] der zwölf miteinander verbundene Ursachen, und schließlich [4] vollständiges Wissen in den drei Bereichen. In einem Wort, von seinem ehemaligen Zustand eines Boddhisattva wird er zum Buddha.

10. Auf dem Weg nach Benares

alt=Den Zustand der Erleuchtung einmal erreicht, bleibt Shakya noch sieben [oder sieben mal sieben] Tage am Fuße des Baumes, um den vollen Genuss seiner Seligkeit auszukosten. Danach wandert er weiter an der Seite von Flüssen und Bächen, wo die Nagas [Schlangen] ihn vor den Strahlen der Sonne schützen. Ihren Köpfe vermehren und vergrößern sich dabeo auf wundersame Weise. Nach den Texten der südlichen Buddhisten, eröffnet dieser Lauf mit der Umwandlung von zwei Kaufleuten, Trapusa und Bhallika, die von den Theologen des Buddhismus nicht als die ersten Jünger betrachtet werden, sondern als Laien Anhänger des Glaubens [Uapasaka in Sanskrit]. Die Umgebung, so scheint es, war nicht sehr günstig, denn Buddha beschloss, sich auf den Weg nach Benares zu machen. Auf dem Weg in die Stadt traf er einen alten Mönch, Upaka, dem er zum ersten Mal seine Eigenschaft als Arhat [der Heilige oder "Würdige"] und als Jina [der Siegreiche] erklärte.

11. Versuchung

alt=Aber zu welchem Preis der übermenschlichen Anstrengung hat er gewann dieses höchste Wissen! Er wird der Erleuchtete auf harte Proben gestellt, denn Mara, der Teufel, versucht den in Meditation Versunkenen zu Fall zu bringen, indem er gefährliche Dämonen auf ihn hetzt. Doch alle Anwürfe und Attacken prallen ab, ohne ihn zu berühren. Mit einer zweiten List lässt Mara seine drei schönen Töchter vor dem Erleuchteten erscheinen, sie sollen Buddha verführen. Doch vor Gautamas in die Zukunft schauenden Augen werden ihre Körper alt und hässlich. Noch will Mara nicht zugeben, dass er besiegt ist, darum berührt Gautama mit den Fingerspitzen der rechten Hand die Erde: Sie möge Maras Niederlage und Gautamas Sieg bezeugen. Die Erde bricht auf, die Erdgöttin Bhumi erscheint vor Buddha, kniet vor ihm nieder und bestätigt: "Der Sieg ist dein, die Erde ist dafür Zeuge."

12. Verbreitung der Lehre

Um die Ausbreitung seiner Lehre zu fördern enthalten buddhistische Dokumente viele Einzelheiten über die 45 Jahre des Lebens Buddhas. Sie gewähren aber auch Einblicke in die damalige Zeit. Erzählungen der Angriffe gegen ihn von seinem Cousin, dem abtrünnigen Devadatta, die schließlich umgesetzt wurde, und von den sechs eifersüchtig Feinde gemeinsam als Tirthika bezeichnet gerichtet, die Geschichte seiner Reise in die Stadt seiner Geburt, Kapilvastu, wo er wandelt seinen Vater, und wo alle Bewohner geworden klösterlichen; die Gründung einer Gemeinschaft von Nonnen in dieser Stadt durch Gautami, Tante von Shakya , die Umwandlung von Rahula, der Sohn des Buddha; die Spende von der Kurtisane Amrapali, und schließlich die Kriege, die brachte der Vater Land der Shakya ruinieren. Auf der anderen Seite gibt es in der buddhistischen Werke reichlich Details über den Tod des Shakyamuni. Im Alter von über 80 Jahren, reist Buddha in die Stadt Kusinagara, der Hauptstadt des Malla Stamm. Von dort geht er in das Dorf Pava, wo er eine Mahlzeit isst, die ihm der Schmied Cunda anbot.

13. Tod

alt=Unfähig, die ungesunde Nahrung zu verdauen erkrankt Buddha, und fühlt den nahenden Tod. Er legt sich auf seine rechte Seite, dreht den Kopf nach Norden und schenkt seinen treuen Schüler Ananda, seine letzten Anweisungen für die Gemeinde. Durch Ananda informiert versammeln sich die Menschen von Malla Stamm um den sterbende Meister zu verabschieden. Er sprich ein letztes Wort über die Eitelkeit aller Dinge,und über die Notwendigkeit der Suche nach Erlösung in der Meditation und der Verzicht weltliche Vergnügungen. Nach sieben Tagen des Gebets, der Musik und Zeremonien, wird der Körper des Buddha verbrannt. Acht Stupas im Land erhalten die Asche.

Reliquien

Eine dieser Reliquien ist 1908 entdeckt worden. Die Urne aus Silber ist die Arbeit eines griechischen Künstlers und trägt Inschriften. Das kostbare Schatulle wurde unter einem Stupa in der Nähe der Stadt Peshawar gefunden.

Das Datum seines Todes ist vermutlich 477 v. Chr.

Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting


The Life of Buddha Shakyamuni

1.Birth Place

The majority of historians place the birth of Siddhartha; the son of Prince Suddhodana and of his wife Maya, towards the end of the sixth century BC Suddhodana was king of the Shakya clan in the kingdom of Kapilvastu. The name of the Gautama Buddha is often, especially among various followers, applied to Siddhartha, in the same way the among the other he is generally called Shakyamuni ['muni' having the significance simply of 'wise' or 'saint' in Sanskrit]

3. Conception

Buddha's LifeMaha Maya dreamed that a white elephant with six tusks entered her right side without causing any pain, which was interpreted to mean that she had conceived a child who would become either a world ruler or a buddha.

4. Birth

Ten months later the Buddha emerged from his mother's side, as she stood leaning against a tree, in a painless and pure birth. He took seven steps and lotus flowers sprang up in his footsteps. A wise man predicted that this child would be either a great secular ruler or a great religious leader.

5. Education

EducationDespite the supernatural powers shown by this child, who at the time of his birth took seven paces in the four directions corresponding to the four miseries of life, he receives the education reserved for the Princes. Losing his mother seven days after his birth, Prince Siddhartha is brought up first of all by his aunt, Mahaprajapati, than taken to school. There however, he astonishes all his masters by reciting to them everything they desire to teach him and much else besides. In like fashion he proves himself pre-eminent at sports. Nevertheless melancholy pervades his being, and he surrenders himself more and more to mediation.

6. Siddhartha leaves the palace

Buddha's LifeTo dispel his sadness his parents conceive the idea of giving him a wife and he marries a princess of the Kiloya clan, to whom the Buddhist texts ascribe the name of Yasoda or Gopa. By her he becomes the father of a son Rahula. But neither the joys of wedded life, nor the pleasure of harem, nor his love for his son can overcome in the young prince preoccupations of philosophical and moral kind. The evolution of his thought is well represented in the legend by the school of the 'four meetings'.

Buddha's LifeHarassed by the question of the purpose of life, Siddhartha leaves the city in his chariot and falls in with an old man whose decrepit air strikes him. 'We live then to grow old and decrepit!' he cries. In the course of similar wanderings he comes upon a sick man and funeral procession. 'So this is life' he meditates, ' suffering - then final annihilation!' Fortunately the fourth meeting dissipates his pessimism. Seeing hermit perfectly calm in his retreat, perfectly happy in his contemplation, the prince divines that the true way of salvation lies in the renunciation of the joys of life, causes of three great evils, old age, sickness, and death, and in the surrender of oneself to contemplation which frees one from the ties of earth.

7. World escape

Ascetic LifeAt the age of twenty-nine or thirty, having failed to obtain from his father leave to adopt the ascetic life, Siddhartha secretly leaves the palace, and abandons wife, children, kinsfolk, concubines, and all his possessions. The legend tells the story of his journey at some length. He sets out on his horse, Kanthaka under whose shod hooves the gods place their hands lest the noise should waken up the guard. At a certain distance from his native town he discards his princely attire for rough garments of orange color, cuts his hair, and so forth. From this moment Prince Siddhartha deserves the sacred name of Shakyamuni or Gautama. He goes forward to seek salvation; but where is salvation to be sought? At this period India did not lack various sects and schools, metaphysical, religious, and mystical.
Among the widely spread was the school of Sankhya, which taught the doctrine of deliverance from the cycle of renewed births recognized by all the creeds of India. Not less known was the school of Yoga, which was derived from the above, and principally developed the ascetic side of doctrine. To one of the initiated of this later school, the monk Alara [or Arada]- Kamala, Shakyamuni applies on reaching the town of Vaisali. Dissatisfied, however, with the monk's teaching, he continues his journey and comes to Rajgriha, the capital Kingdom of Magadha, where after refusing the offer made by King Bimbisara of a share of the throne; he retires to the mountains and follows the teaching of a celebrated Yogist, the ascetic Udraka Ramaputra. In its desire to emphasize the originality of the doctrine of Buddha, the legends describes him as equally little satisfied with the instructions of this philosopher, but we are forced to believe that as a matter of fact the ascetic benefited by teaching of several masters, for we find in Buddhism more than one fundamental feature of the doctrines of Sankhya, of Yoga, and of other contemporary schools.

8. Ascetic Life

Buddha's LifeThe legend shows us Shakyamuni, wearied at last of all these false teachers, seeking in the mortification of the body the solution of the problems, which vex him. Leaving the country of Magadha, he retires with five deciples whom he has succeeded in gathering about him, to desert place in the small district Urubilva near Gaya. There for six years he gives himself over to the most painful mortification; he attains to the consumption of a single grain of rice in the day, and ends by reducing himself almost to the condition of a skeleton. However, finding in asceticism no help towards the solution of the problems metaphysics and moral philosophy, he changes his system and returns to ordinary life, a course which wins for him the contempt of five pupils, who stigmatize him as glutton and voluptuary because he accepts a little milk and honey offered by two young village women, the sisters [according certain versions] Nanda and Nandabala.

9. Enlightenment

EnlightenmentUnmoved by these reproaches, Shakyamuni goes forth to the town to day called Bodh-Gaya. There he seats himself at the foot of a tree and declares that, though his body may wither away in this position of meditation, he will not leave it until he has attained the 'Bodhi' or perfect knowledge. And one night the miracle happens; Shakyamuni has attained the Bodhi; an inward illumination lays all things open to his understanding. Successively he gains [1] the knowledge of previous existence; [2] the destruction of evil desires; [3] knowledge of the nexus [incarnation] of the twelve interrelated causes; and finally [4] complete knowledge in its three divisions. In a word, from his former state of being Boddhisattva he becomes Buddha.

10. Auf dem Weg nach Benares

Buddha's LifeThe possession of Bodhi once attained, Shakya remains yet seven [or seven times seven] days at the foot of the tree in order to fully enjoy his beatitude. Afterwards he goes forth under other trees and walks by the side of rivers and streams where the Nagas [Serpents] shield him from the rays of the sun with their heads miraculously multiplied and enlarged. According to the texts of the southern Buddhists, this propagation opened with conversion of two merchants, Trapusa and Bhallika, who are considered by the theologians of Buddhism not as the first disciples, but as lay adherents to the faith [Uapasaka in Sanskrit]. Just at the first the preaching of the new gospel does not seem to have had much success. The environment, it would appear, was not very favorable, for Buddha decided to set out for Benares. On the road towards the city he met an aged monk, Upaka, to whom, for the first time, he declared his quality of Arhat [the saint or 'worthy'] and of Jina [the victorious].

11. Temptation

Buddha's LifeBut at what price of superhuman effort has he won this supreme knowledge! To all the causes of difficulty inherent in his task has been added the malevolence of Mara, the Genius of Evil and during his sojourn under the Bodhi tree, this maleficent being spares no effort according to the legend, to prevent Shakya from becoming Buddha. At first he tries to turn him from the way of holiness by threats and by loosing against him all the elements of nature and the fury of the armies of evil spirits. Then he seeks to reach him by the attractions of three virgins and numberless beautiful women. But Shakya comes victorious from these trials. It will be recognized that these narratives are a parable, easily comprehensible by the multitude, of the inward strife waged in the soul of Shakya between natural attachment to the outer world and pleasure of life and the total renunciation of the ascetic. In the same way the refusal of Buddha when Mara offers to make him at once into heavenly Buddha without his passing through the stage of Manushi-Buddha [Human-Buddha] implies the desire of Shakya to propagate his teaching, to make known to men the true path of salvation, and thus to deliver them from the fated circle of renewed births.

12. Propagation of the faith

Buddha's LifeThe real propagation of the faith and the foundation of a School and of a community [sangha], after the fashion of the other religion of contemporary India, only began with the arrival at Benares, where Buddha found once more his five original disciples. At first they receive him with contempt, but are quickly converted by the preaching known as dharmacakraprvartana, i.e. the preaching 'of the foundation of the reign of the Law', or literally, 'the turning [or setting in motion] of the wheel of the law'.
For the first time in this discourse Buddha sets forth the foundation of his teachings on 'the four truths'. Conversions become numerous after this success; there is the rich young man Yasas, with his kinsfolk and dependants; then at Uruvilva we find the thousand Brahmans whose leaders, the brothers Kasyapa, become the first apostles of the new faith; and many more besides. Lastly, Bimbisara, king of Magadha, with the majority of his people, adopts the Buddhist doctrine, and presents to Buddha the 'Park of bamboos' [Veluvana] near Rajgriha, which becomes the headquarters of the community. There were converted Sariputra and Maudgalyayana, the two chief followers of Buddha.

13. Death

Buddha's LifeUnable to digest the unhealthy food, Buddha falls ill, and, feeling death at hand, he lays him down on his right side, his head turned towards the north and gives to his faithful disciple and lieutenant, Ananda, his last instructions for the organization of the community. Warned by Ananda, the people of Malla tribe [and even the beasts, avers the legend] assemble around dying master, who speaks a last word on the vanity of all things that are, and on the necessity of seeking salvation in meditation and renunciation of the worldly pleasures. After seven days of prayer, music, and ceremonies, in which all the living creatures share, the body of Buddha is burnt, and the ashes, distributed among several kings and peoples, are preserved in eight funerary monuments.

Documents

The Buddhist documents are sparing of detail about the forty-five later years of Buddha's life, consecrated to the propagation of his teaching and to the organization of the monastic communities. They give, however, the description of his division of his day; narratives of the attacks directed against him by his cousin, the renegade Devadatta, who was eventually converted, and by the six jealous enemies designated collectively as Tirthika; the story of his journey to the city of his birth, Kapilvastu, where he converts his father, and where all the inhabitants become monastic; the foundation of a community of nuns in this city by Gautami, aunt of Shakya ; the conversion of Rahula, the son of Buddha; the donation by the courtesan Amrapali; finally, the wars which brought ruin to the father land of Shakya . On the other hand, there are in the Buddhist works abundant details about the death of Shakyamuni. When over eighty years of age, Buddha sets out for the town of Kusinagara, capital of the Malla tribe. Thence he goes to the village of Pava, where he eats a meal offered him by the blacksmith Cunda.

Relics

One of these groups of relics has recently been discovered [in 1908] in its reliquary of silver, which was the work of a Greek artist, and bears inscriptions. The precious casket was buried under a Stupa, raised by King Kanishka, near the city of Peshawar.

The date of Buddha's death was probably 477 BC.