Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting

3.65 Ratnasambhava Mandala [3]

Full  View Detail 1 Detail 2 Workshop Photo

This Mandala shows the Tathagata Buddha Ratnasambhava [Tib.: rin chen 'byung gnas དང་པོའི་སངས་རྒྱས།] sitting on a single layered lotus throne. He belongs to the five Tathagata Buddhas.

Outside the Mandala we see the symbols at the top right and left the two symbols for sun and moon. They are two of the most important polarity symbols in Vajrayana Buddhism. The red or golden sun represents the feminine aspect of wisdom and the white moon the male aspect of method or compassion.

The five Tathagata [or also: Dhyani] Buddhas are the white Vairocana, the blue Akshobhya, the yellow Ratnasambhava, the red Amitâbha and the green Amoghasiddhi.

They are not historical Buddhas. These Buddhas are visualized in the course of a meditation.

Each of the five Tathagata Buddhas is associated with certain symbols, characteristics and cardinal points and embody one of five wisdoms.

By associating the Buddhas with the five cardinal directions [The center is considered the 5th cardinal direction] ] they are rulers of the five cosmic realms of "ether, water, earth, fire and air".

More ...

Measurements: 19.7 x 19.7" | 50 x 50 cm
Price: on request
Shipment: Parcel Service from Germany or Nepal
Color: Color Version
Material: Natural Stone Colors
High resolution: Display [419 KB, 1108 x 1108 px.]