Dharmapala Thangka CentreSchool of Thangka Painting

1.5 Life of Buddha [10]

Shakyamuni Buddha Scenes from the Buddha's Life illustrate the twelve major acts of a Buddha, as well as his interactions with members of the Sangha; scenes from the Jatakas, or birth stories, recall events in the Buddhas past lives as a Bodhisattva.

These paintings reveal the operation of karma, the value of virtuous action, the nature of compassion, and the attitudes that support the path to enlightenment.

On this thangka twelve episodes are depicted in medallions which are grouped in an arc around the central Buddha image.

01. Reception07. Austerities
02. Birth of Buddha08. Enlightenment
03. Education of Buddha09. Mara's subjugation
04. Life in the royal palace10. Doctrine
05. The Great Departure11. Miracles
06. Escape12. Paranirvana

At the top of the scroll we see White Tara [left], Blue Samantabhadra [center] and Green Tara [right].

A red Garuda is depicted below Samantabhadra.

Measurements: 26 x 40.2" | 66 x 102 cm
Price: on request
Shipment: Parcel Service from Germany or Nepal
Color: Color Version
Material: Natural Stonecolors
High resolution: Display [3.5 MB, 2730 x 3640 px.]