Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V. / Childrens´s World
- Info Letter September 2009 -

Dear Friends,
 
As much as one would like to be able to report something positive on the development of Nepal, we have nothing that could be considered as good news. Because the Maoist ministers have not had the necessary majority to govern, they have all resigned. Under the leadership of the new Prime Minister Madav Kumar Nepal, who was elected after longing for years after this post - nothing happens. The newspapers only report of the cholera epidemic, which is spreading in the remote parts of the country. Hundreds of people are dying from lack of food and medicines. Since these areas are accessible only after many days march, nobody seems to want to take the trouble to go there to provide assistance. In addition to the epidemic the growing crime rate is the main theme in the press: children are abducted and people are killed for no apparent reason.The police remain passive and are also incapable of dealing with the daily protests and acts of violence on the streets. No, nothing really changes in Nepal.

On the other hand, there are many new things from our project to report:

First of all, there is no more Children's Home. The Head Office of Children's Aid Nepal is now in Meenas modest house on the outskirts of Kathmandu. There live her two daughters, Angela and Aruna, our former chef Anita with her son Nelson, Siya, who works for us in the slum, and Prakash, the brother of our late Pramod, who is now studying food technology. Currently Kusum also lives there and is looking for work, having just successfully completed her Masters in Business Administration in Thailand. In the city, 6 girls share a small apartment, they have to study for another 2 years before they finish their nursing and pharmacist training. Five children are in boarding school. There's also Deepak who will soon finish his Bachelor's degree in Psychology in Thailand, the blind Goma, who is struggling for her degree in English in Delhi, and Smita and Tenzing, who are studying physiotherapy in Bangalore. Therefore our mission to educate 60 children from Children's World has come to an end. From now on we will apply ourselves only to the slum children.

In "our" Pathivaraslum something happened to Sija who has been working hard there for the Children's Aid Nepal for five years.

In mid-June when the school was full and just as the food was being handed out to the children in came three men from Slum-comitee - sent them all back home, changed all the locks in the premises leased by us, and drove Sija away. Then negotiations were held with this committee by a lawyer who represented us. To the question "why" we are still awaiting an answer. By contrast, the men were clear on one point: The support of the Children's Aid Nepal was welcome, but they now wanted to receive our money directly and manage it themselves! Who here in Europe could understand that these people are destroying with their stupid, stubborn, and completely irrational behavior so easily the positive enviroment that we have given to their children and to their entire community??
Since our answer was a categorical no to this request, the committee is now trying to register our school with the government, until now without success. Our last visit there made us very sad: Only two classrooms from the 6 rooms we had rented, were occupied. The children present were seated on the floor. Of the facilities, which we had installed over the years, there was no trace to be seen. Whether they had been sold or hidden, we do not know. In July my daily attempts to speak personally with the men of the committee, couldn't take place. They were, they confessed to Meena on the phone, too scared ... our Nepalese friends discouraged us from pursuing the matter further, because, they say, it is far too dangerous. Nepalese people are very frightened people, who live outside the law, and anyone who wants to defend his rights, must reckon with violence and reprisals. The police will not help, because they are scared themselves... Still a large meeting has been planned for October, which will be attended by leaders from the other Slumkomitees in Kathmandu and where we want to resolve the problem at all costs.
The Pathivaraslum had grown through our commitment to a "5-star slum," and we are now able to observe whether the so-popular slogan "help yourselves" really works. What we have achieved in Pathivara, the slum dwellers can continue for themselves...if they only want to ... We know that the children currently receive no food and that the little ones are not allowed to go to school. We also know that the mothers are very sorry, that they have not prevailed against the men who are destroying our project there. Since we did not want their children to be punished by this incident, we have enrolled 45 of them in a government school and will carry on paying their future educational costs.

Events that appear at once negative and painful, can also cause something positive, and it would really have to be something worse than the aggression of a few immature males, so we won't give up! Poverty in Nepal is so very common that it was not difficult to continue working immediately elsewhere on our Children's Help project. In July, we have set up in another major slum a nursery for 2 to 4 year olds. Especially at this age, our vitamin-and mineral-rich diet is extremely important in order to allow children to develop well mentally and physically. Ánd it is not just the 50 or so who regularly visit the nursery, but also babies and the older malnourished children of the neighborhood that get a bowl full of our rich milk porridge at lunchtime. The slum of Bongshigat has for us a big advantage: The Women's Committee there is very strong and well organized and is solely responsible for the welfare of families. For the mothers of the children the nursery is of great importance because it allows them now to look for work. The men are often unable to earn money, and women typically work on construction sites, where they carry sand and cement on their backs, or they go to wealthier people to wash clothes. Together with them we are trying to gradually improve the living conditions of the community. Our new employees Sangita and Djaynti live in the slum. Djaynti is strong,and of a motherly nature, who fears no one and does not hesitate to confront the menacing-looking young men in the slums or in the evening to bring our dishes back in the tents again, that had somehow "magically" disappeared from our kitchen ...

And so we are starting from scratch! This is often very tiring, but we are always aware of what we are working for in this country: to help people who by their culture and the climatic conditions are not able to help themselves. While it is their smiles so full of hope, which always gives us the strength to continue, it is above all you who strengthen us by your faithful support.
Without you, the Children's Aid Nepal could not celebrate its twentieth birthday this year. Very few aid agencies in Nepal survive more than 3 to 5 years. But the fact that you're here with us, in a really disheartening phase, is the crucial point that gives us time and time again the necessary energy to carry on!

Thank all of you,

Love and peace till the next Newsletter in December!

Elisabeth Montet

Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V.
- Rundbrief September 2009 -

Liebe Freunde,

so sehr man sich auch wünschen würde, etwas Positives über die Entwicklung Nepals zu berichten, geschieht dort niemals etwas, das als gute Nachricht gelten könnte. Da die maoistischen Minister nicht die nötige Mehrheit hatten, um regieren zu können, sind sie alle zurückgetreten. Unter der Führung des neuen Premierministers Madav Kumar Nepal, der sich jahrelang nach diesem Amt ge- sehnt hatte, passiert gar nichts. Die Zeitungen berichten nur von der Choleraepidemie, die sich in entfernten Teilen des Landes ausbreitet. Hunderte von Menschen sterben aus Mangel an Nahrung und Medikamenten. Diese Gebiete sind nur nach tagelangem Marsch zu erreichen, und niemand scheint sich die Mühe geben zu wollen, dort Hilfe zu leisten. Neben der Seuche ist die wachsende Kriminalität Hauptthema der Presse: Kinder werden entführt und getötet, Menschen ohne ersichtlichen Grund ermordet. Die Polizei bleibt dabei passiv und ist außerdem unfähig, die täglichen Proteste und Gewalttätigkeiten auf der Straße einzudämmen. Nein, in Nepal ändert sich wirklich nichts. Dagegen gibt es viel Neues von unserem Projekt zu berichten: Erst einmal gibt es kein Kinderhaus mehr.

Der Hauptsitz der Kinderhilfe Nepal befindet sich jetzt in Meenas bescheidenem Haus am Rande Kathmandus. Dort wohnen Meenas zwei Töchter Angela und Aruna, Nelson, unsere ehemalige Köchin Anita mit ihrem Sohn sowie Sija, die für uns im Slum arbeitet, und Prakash, der Bruder unseres verstorbenen Pramod, der jetzt Lebensmitteltechnologie studiert. Zur Zeit lebt Kusum ebenfalls dort und sucht Arbeit, nachdem sie gerade ihren Master in Business Administration in Thailand erfolgreich abgeschlossen hat. In der Stadt teilen sich 6 Mädchen eine kleine Wohnung; sie müssen noch 2 Jahre für ihr Krankenschwester- und Apothekerstudium lernen. Fünf Kinder sind im Internat. Außerdem gibt es noch Deepak, der in Thailand sein Bachelorstudium in Psychologie zu Ende bringt, die blinde Goma, die in Delhi um ihr Diplom in Englisch kämpft, sowie Smita und Tenzing, die in Bangalore Physiotherapie studieren. Damit ist unsere Aufgabe, die 60 Kinder von Children´s World zu erziehen, beendet. Wir werden uns von nun an nur noch den Slumkindern widmen.

In "unserem" Pathivaraslum ist gerade etwas geschehen, das Sija, die dort seit fünf Jahren hart für die Kinderhilfe Nepal arbeitet, völlig aus der Fassung brachte:

Mitte Juni, als die Schule voll besetzt war und den Kindern gerade das Essen ausgeteilt wurde, kamen drei Männer vom Slumkomitee, schickten alle nach Hause, tauschten sämtliche Schlösser in den von uns gemieteten Räumen aus und verjagten Sija. Darauf fanden Verhandlungen mit diesem Komitee durch einen Anwalt statt, der uns vertrat. Auf die Frage "Warum" erwarten wir immer noch eine Antwort. Dagegen waren die Männer in einem Punkt klar: Die Unterstützung durch die Kinderhilfe Nepal war willkommen, aber sie wollten von nun an unser Geld direkt erhalten und es selbst verwalten!!! Wer wird hier in Europa verstehen können, dass Menschen durch ihr dummes, stures und völlig irrationales Verhalten das gute Leben, das wir ihren Kindern und ihrer ganzen Gemeinschaft möglich machten, einfach so zerstören???

Da unsere Antwort auf dieses Gesuch ein kategorisches Nein war, bemüht sich das Komitee jetzt, unsere Schule von der Regierung registrieren zu lassen, bis heute jedoch ohne Erfolg. Ein Besuch dort machte uns sehr traurig: Nur zwei Klassenzimmer von den 6 Räumen, die wir gemietet hatten, waren besetzt. Die anwesenden Kinder saßen auf dem Boden. Von der Einrichtung, die wir über die Jahre installiert hatten, war keine Spur mehr zu sehen. Ob sie verkauft oder versteckt wurde, wissen wir nicht. Mein täglicher Versuch, persönlich mit den Männern des Komitees zu sprechen, konnte jetzt im Juli nicht zustande kommen. Sie hätten, gestanden sie Meena am Telefon, viel zu viel Angst ... Es wird uns von all unseren nepalesischen Freunden davon abgeraten, der Sache weiter nachzugehen, weil es, so sagen sie, viel zu gefährlich sei. Nepalesen sind sehr ängstliche Menschen. Es wird hier jenseits der Gesetze gelebt, und wer sein Recht verteidigen will, muss mit Gewalt und Repressalien rechnen. Die Polizei hilft nicht, weil sie selber Angst hat. Trotzdem ist für Oktober eine große Versammlung geplant, an der die Verantwortlichen der anderen Slumkomitees Kathmandus teilnehmen werden und bei der wir die Sache unbedingt klären wollen.

Der Pathivaraslum war durch unseren Einsatz zu einem "5-Sterne-Slum" geworden, und wir werden jetzt beobachten können, ob der so beliebte Spruch "Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe" wirklich funktioniert. Das, was wir in Pathivara erreicht haben, können die Slumbewohner selbst weiter-

führen…, wenn sie nur wollen…Wir wissen, dass die Kinder zurzeit keine Nahrung mehr bekommen und dass die ganz Kleinen nicht mehr zur Schule gehen dürfen. Wir wissen auch, dass die Mütter sehr bereuen, sich nicht gegen die Männer durchgesetzt zu haben, die dort unser Projekt zerstörten. Da wir nicht wollten, dass alle Kinder der Siedlung durch dieses Vorkommnis bestraft werden, haben wir 45 von ihnen bei einer Regierungsschule eingeschrieben und werden in Zukunft ihre Schulkosten tragen.

Ereignisse, die erst einmal negativ und schmerzhaft erscheinen, können aber auch Positives bringen, und es müsste wirklich Schlimmeres geschehen als der Überfall einiger unreifer Männer, damit wir aufgeben! Die Armut ist in Nepal so unendlich verbreitet, dass es für unsere Kinderhilfe nicht schwierig war, sofort an anderer Stelle weiterzuarbeiten. Im Juli haben wir in einem anderen größeren Slum einen Kindergarten für Kleine zwischen 2 und 4 Jahren eingerichtet. Ganz besonders in diesem Alter ist unsere vitamin- und mineralreiche Nahrung äußerst wichtig, damit die Kinder sich geistig und körperlich gut entwickeln, und nicht nur die 50, die den Kindergarten regelmäßig besuchen, sondern auch Babys und ältere unterernährte Kinder der Nachbarschaft bekommen um ein Uhr mittags eine Schale voll von unserem reichhaltigen Milchbrei. Der Slum von Bongshigat hat für uns einen großen Vorteil: Das Frauenkomitee ist dort sehr stark organisiert und einzig für das Wohl der Familien zuständig. Für die Mütter der Kinder ist der Kindergarten von großer Bedeutung, weil er ihnen erlaubt, jetzt draußen Arbeit zu suchen. Die Männer sind oft unfähig, Geld zu verdienen, und die Frauen arbeiten meist auf Baustellen, wo sie Sand und Zement auf ihrem Rücken tragen, oder sie gehen zu reicheren Leuten, um Wäsche zu waschen. Mit ihnen zusammen machen wir uns daran, die Lebensumstände der Gemeinschaft allmählich zu verbessern. Unsere neuen Mitarbeiterinnen Djaynti und Sangita leben im Slum. Djaynti ist eine starke, mütterliche Natur, die vor niemandem Angst hat und nicht zögert, sich mit den bedrohlich aussehenden jungen Männern des Slums anzulegen oder abends unser Geschirr in den Hütten wieder einzusammeln, das auf magische Weise aus unserer Küche verschwunden war.

Und so fangen wir wieder bei Null an! Dieser Einsatz ist oft sehr ermüdend, aber wir machen uns immer wieder bewusst, wozu wir in diesem Land arbeiten: um Menschen beizustehen, die von ihrer Kultur und den klimatischen Umständen her nicht in der Lage sind, sich allein zu entwickeln. Es ist einerseits ihr Lächeln voller Hoffnung, das uns immer wieder die Kraft gibt, weiterzumachen, aber vor allem sind Sie es, die uns durch Ihre treue Hilfe den Rücken stärken.

Ohne Sie könnte die Kinderhilfe Nepal dieses Jahr ihren zwanzigsten Geburtstag nicht feiern. Nur sehr wenige Hilfsorganisationen in Nepal existieren länger als 3 bis 5 Jahre. Die Tatsache aber, dass Sie da sind, ist in entmutigenden Phasen wirklich der entscheidende Punkt, der uns immer wieder die nötige Energie gibt!

Ihnen allen herzlichen Dank und alles Gute und Liebe bis zum nächsten Infobrief im Dezember!

herzliche Grüße!
Elisabeth Montet