Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V. / Childrens´s World
- Newsletter Augist 2016 -

Frankfurt, August, 2016

Dear Friends,

Last July a fatal assassination took the lives of twelve Nepalese security guards employed by the Canadian Embassy in Kabul. This event caused headlines in Kathmandu, centring on the unworthy labour standards that hundreds of thousands of Nepalese workers are enduring in Malaysia, the Gulf States and other war zones. Our western embassies and UN agencies are not hesitating to employ cheap Nepalese labour forces to do highly hazardous work in order to save money as well as the lives of their own citizens. After work, these twelve security guards were driven to their lodging, without any protection, when their bus exploded. Nevertheless, such terrible events are not preventing the many dubious Nepalese procurement agencies from sending masses of people abroad for large amounts of money.

The state is closing its eyes in front of this fact, because the country primarily survives on the foreign currency that these workers send back home. It is common that the workers passports are confiscated as they arrive at their destination. This procedure insures that the worker cannot leave his employee or the country before his contract expires. Regardless of a worker's discontent, this gives the employers the discretion to treat their employees extremely harshly knowing that they will not be able to flee the country.

Most of the time, loans are not paid very regularly and if they are only half of the promised wage is paid. Increasingly, women become part of this marginalized labor as they end up in Arabic households as maids or servants. One young lady from the former "Children's Wolrd", is currently working as a gofer in Saudi Arabia. She is being treated like a prisoner and is forced to wear a burka. Facebook is her only connection to the outside world and she deeply regrets that she ran away from her childhood home with a taxi driver, shortly before completing her high school degree. Now she has a child and thought that she could earn money in the "Golden overseas" to be able to give her daughter schooling. Whilst her pay just about covers this, she is having to endure a life without dignity.

The political situation in Nepal remains chaotic. It has been a year and a half since the earthquake and the government has just begun to use the foreign donations for the reconstruction of the land. This delay was caused by the corruption of several different political parties that have been trying to secure themselves financial advantages in the allocation of the donations. Despite a harsh winter and the second monsoon period, the victims of the earthquake are still waiting for help. Floods and landslides are destroying their huts that were constructed with corrugated metal or plastic. Even though the Nepalese government is aware of the famine that is going on in several parts of the remote regions of the Himalayas, it is continuing to sell the thousands of tons of rice that China sent a year ago as emergency relief support for the victims of the earthquake.

The EU only just sent half of their promised 100 million euros to the Nepalese government in mid July 2016. This money is set to be used to rebuild schools and streets. However, the EU-ambassador highlighted, that the European Union would be monitoring the expenditure of this money very closely in order to make sure that these buildings will actually be rebuilt according to the new "earthquake proof" safety regulations. Only after the government can show that this is occurring according to protocol, will the second payment of 50 million Euros follow. The World Bank also committed to paying Nepal 2000 Euro per family that was affected by the earthquake. This money is to be paid in three instalments. However, so far the money has not reached the families and even if it does, the amount is by far not enough to build a simple, but earthquake proof house.

We are very excited that we were able to honour our pledge: in the village of Mudhku the 20 earthquake proof houses have been completed. Mrs Karin König from Oldenburg, who financed ten of these houses on her own, visited from Germany with her son and her granddaughter, in order to inaugurate the new houses. This inauguration turned into a large, spontaneous celebration that will remain in all of our memories (see photos). The 60 families of the village that are still living in our makeshift Tarpaulin shelters did not show any envy, but did not take part in the festivities.

After we used the money that received right after the catastrophe, for the construction of the temporary accommodation for the 80 families in need and the school, we unfortunately only had enough left to build 20 earthquake proof houses. Mudhku is a very spread-out village. In order to save money, the villagers and the architects decided to reconstruct the houses in the most highly populated area. The financial situation of the families with many children was also considered. In the end, every house built cost 7000€ and the entire construction effort is still being looked at by an independent architect, before the final cost will be disclosed.

It was not easy to successfully plan and complete this construction project. Muna and Sushma passed on the pressures from Germany to the engineers for six months without being discouraged. Even though we all had to use all of our assertiveness and a lot of energy for the building of these houses, it was definitely worth it.

Approx. three million residents of Kathmandu are lacking power and water, even during the current rainy season. We are continuing to use lorries to transport drinking water to the slums of Banshigat and Thapathali three times a week. Our work there continues: we serve a milk pudding that is rich in vitamins and minerals to 300 children every day. The kindergarten continues to be a big help for the mothers who spend their days on construction sites or working as a maid in order to feed their families. Muna maintains the hygiene and health, as she splits her time each day to help in each village.

The Maute Nomads have reappeared in Kathmandu. Muna and Sushma visit them three times a week with the hope of improving their lifestyles in some way. In this ethnic group, children are born very frequently, whilst the malnourished mothers cannot provide the necessary milk to keep them alive. Thus, we have started to distribute milk powder as well as disinfecting soap, tooth paste and tooth brushes… The hand-out of these vital products is an everyday battle for us. This is the case, because the behaviour of these nomads towards us has not improved at all over the years. They plunge towards us like wild animals, in order to insure that they will get the products they need. They do not shy away from using violence and the best-case scenario of this part of our work is the saving the lives of one or two children. However, this work is by far not as satisfying as our work in the slums of Thapathali and Banshigat.

We thank you all dearly for your support of the Kinderhilfe Nepal and would like to pass you on a particularly special thank you from the 20 families from Mudhku who are now living under dignified circumstances for the first times in their life. Previously they dealt with their needs out in the fields, and now they own a toilet and the opportunity to shower: for most Nepalese people a great luxury!

Warm Regards,


Elisabeth Montet

Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V. / Childrens´s World
- Rundbrief August 2016 -

Frankfurt, August, 2016

Liebe Freunde,

das tödliche Attentat, das im letzten Juni zwölf nepalesischen Sicherheitsangestellten der Kanadischen Botschaft in Kabul das Leben kostete, machte in Kathmandu wieder Schlagzeilen über die unwürdigen Arbeitsbedingungen der Hunderttausenden von Nepalesen, die sich in Malaysia, den Golfstaaten und in den Kriegsgebieten verdingen. Unsere westlichen Botschaften und die UN-Vertretungen zögern nicht, billige nepalesische Arbeitskräfte für hoch gefährliche Arbeiten zu beschäftigen, um Geld zu sparen und das Leben der eigenen Mitbürger nicht zu riskieren. Diese zwölf Sicherheitskräfte wurden ohne Schutznach der Arbeit in ihre Unterkunft gefahren, als ihr Bus explodierte. Solche schrecklichen Ereignisse hindern die vielen dubiosen nepalesischen Vermittlungsagenturen weiterhin nicht daran, Massen von Menschen für Riesen-summen ins Ausland zu schleusen.

Der Staat schließt die Augen davor, weil das Land zum großen Teil nur durch die Devisen überlebt, die diese Arbeiter nach Hause schicken. Üblich ist es, dass dem Arbeiter bei der Ankunft im Zielland der Pass weggenommen wird, so dass er, falls er nicht zufrieden ist, nicht vor Ende des Vertrages nach Hause fliegen kann und die harten Arbeitsbedingungen hinnehmen muss. Meistens wird nur die Hälfte des versprochenen Lohnes bezahlt, und dies nicht einmal regelmäßig. Immer mehr Frauen geraten in diese Falle und befinden sich in arabischen Haushalten als Dienerinnen.

Eine junge Frau aus dem ehemaligen "Children´s World", arbeitet zurzeit in Saudi Arabien als Mädchen für alles. Sie wird wie eine Gefangene behandelt und dazu gezwungen, die Burka zu tragen. Facebook ist ihre einzige Verbindung zur Welt, und sie bereut zutiefst, damals kurz vor dem Abitur mit einem Taxifahrer vom Kinderhaus durchgebrannt zu sein. Jetzt hat sie ein Kind und dachte, dass sie im "goldenen Ausland" Geld verdienen könnte, um ihrer Tochter eine Schulausbildung zu ermöglichen. Ihr Lohn reicht noch gerade dafür, aber sie muss dagegen ein würdeloses Leben führen.

Die politische Situation Nepals bleibt chaotisch. Erst anderthalb Jahre nach dem Erdbeben hat die Regierung jetzt angefangen, die ausländischen Spendengelder für den Wiederaufbau des Landes weiterzuleiten. Diese Verspätung liegt an der Korruption der verschiedenen politischen Parteien, die sich finanzielle Vorteile von der Verteilung des Geldes zu sichern versuchen. Nach einem harten Winter und in ihrer zweiten Monsunzeit warten die Erdbebenopfer immer noch auf Hilfe. Überschwemmungen und Erdlawinen reißen ihnen die Wellblech- und Plastikhütten weg. Obwohl die nepalesische Regierung sehr wohl weiß, dass eine Hungersnot in mehreren Teilen der entfernten Regionen des Himalayas droht, verkauft sie auf dem Markt Tausende von Tonnen Reis, die vor einem Jahr von China für die Katastrophenopfer gespendet wurden.

Die EU hat erst Mitte Juli 2016 die erste Hälfte der versprochenen 100 Millionen Euro für den Wiederaufbau von Schulen und Straßen an die Regierung gegeben. Allerdings betonte der EU-Botschafter, dass die Europäische Union sorgfältig kontrollieren würde, wie das Geld benutzt wird und ob die Gebäude wirklich nach den Erdbeben Sicherheitsrichtlinien gebaut werden. Erst dann würde die weitere Summe von 50 Millionen Euro folgen. Auch die Weltbank hat sich verpflichtet, Nepal 2000 Euro pro Erdbebenopferfamilie bereitzustellen, die in 3 Phasen verteilt werden sollten, aber das Geld kommt bis jetzt bei den Menschen nicht an, und diese Summe ist ohnehin bei weitem nicht genug, um ein einfaches, aber erdbebensicheres Haus zu bauen.

Wir freuen uns sehr darüber, unser Versprechen gehalten zu haben: in dem Dorf Mudhku sind die 20 erdbebensicheren Häuser fertig geworden, und Frau Karin König aus Oldenburg, die allein 10 von den Häusern finanzierte, kam aus Deutschland mit Sohn und Enkelin, um die neuen Behausungen einzuweihen. Daraus wurde ein großes spontanes Fest, das uns allen in Erinnerung bleiben wird (S. Photos). Die 60 restlichen Familien des Dorfes, die immer noch unter unseren provisorischen Tarpaulin Unterkünften wohnen, zeigten keinen Neid, nahmen aber an den Feierlichkeiten nicht teil…

Nachdem wir das Geld, das bei uns gleich nach der Katastrophe eingegangen ist, für den Bau von provisorischen Unterkünften für die 80 Familien in Not und die Schule ausgegeben hatten, blieb leider nur genug, um 20 Erdbeben resistente Häuser zu bauen. Da Mudhku ein weit zerstreutes Dorf ist, wurde aus Kostengründen von den Dörflern und den Architekten zusammen beschlossen, die Häuser an der am meisten besiedelten Stelle zu bauen. Auch die finanzielle Situation der kinderreichen Familien wurde berücksichtigt. Am Ende hat jedes Haus 7000€ gekostet, und die ganzen Bauten werden noch von einem unabhängigen Architekt abgenommen, bevor die Endsumme gegeben wird.

Es ist nicht einfach gewesen, dieses Bauprojekt erfolgreich durchzuführen. Muna und Sushma leiteten den Druck aus Deutschland sechs Monate lang an die Ingenieure mutig weiter. Wir alle mussten zwar unser ganzes Durchsetzungsvermögen und viel Energie für den Bau dieser Häuser einsetzen, aber es hat sich gelohnt.

Trotz der Regenzeit fehlt es den ca. drei Millionen Einwohnern Kathmandus an Strom und Wasser. Wir liefern nach wie vor Trinkwasser dreimal in der Woche mit LKWs in die Slums von Banshigat und Thapathali. Dort läuft unsere Arbeit weiter: Unseren an Vitaminen und Mineralien angereicherten Milchbrei bekommen täglich über 300 Kinder. Der Kindergarten ist weiterhin eine große Hilfe für die Mütter, die tagsüber auf Baustellen oder als Haushaltshilfen arbeiten, um ihre Familie ernähren zu können. Muna sorgt auch jeden Tag für Hygiene und Gesundheit, indem sie je einen halben Tag in beiden Siedlungen arbeitet.

Die Maute Nomaden sind wieder in Kathmandu aufgetaucht. Muna und Sushma besuchen sie dreimal wöchentlich, in der Hoffnung eine Verbesserung ihrer Lebensweise zu bewirken. Kinder werden in dieser ethnischen Gruppe am laufenden Band geboren, und den unterernährten Müttern fehlt es an der nötigen Milch, um sie am Leben zu erhalten. Deshalb verteilen wir jetzt Milchpulver, aber auch desinfizierende Seife, Zahnpasta und Zahnbürsten…

Die Ausgabe dieser lebensnotwendigen Mittel wird immer zu einer für uns schwierig durchzustehenden Schlacht! Das Benehmen dieser Nomaden uns gegenüber verbessert sich über die Jahre überhaupt nicht. Sie stürzen sich auf uns wie Wilde, um manchmal auch mit Gewalt sicher zu sein, an die verteilten Hilfsgüter zu kommen. Bei ihnen erreichen wir durch unseren Einsatz höchstens, dass das eine oder andere Kind am Leben bleibt, aber diese Arbeit ist bei weitem nicht so befriedigend wie unsere Tätigkeit in den Slums von Thapathali und Banshigat.

Wir danken Ihnen allen sehr herzlich, die Kinderhilfe Nepal unterstützen, und geben Ihnen ein besonders großes Dankeschön von den 20 Familien aus Mudhku weiter, die zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben unter würdevollen Bedingungen leben. Bisher erledigten sie ihre Bedürfnisse auf den Feldern, jetzt besitzen Sie eine Toilette und die Möglichkeit zu duschen: für die meisten Nepalesen ein richtiger Luxus!

Ganz herzliche Grüße,

Elisabeth Montet