Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V. / Childrens´s World
- Info Letter May 2005 -

Dear Friends,

On 1st February 2005 at 9 a.m. a radical change of public life took place in Nepal. All of a sudden telephone connections were cut off, the King, Gyanendra, appeared on TV to inform his people that as from today onwards he would assume all power alone and for three years there would be the state of emergency. All ministers were placed under house arrest, many members of political parties were detained, he told; He the King would abolish the rampant corruption in the country. He called upon the Maoist rebels, who by now except for the Kathmandu valley are ruling almost the whole of Nepal, to come forward to negotiate.

These days, in Nepal not more than three people are allowed to gather in the streets, the right to demonstrate has been abolished as well as the possibility to express one's opinion freely. Army and police can now enter a house without any search warrant; they can grab all the money they want and arrest people arbitrarily. Suppose, in Europe for an unpredictable period of time one would have no more contact with one's family - in such a situation we people in the West would realize how lucky we are to live in countries, where we can breathe freely, though we are of course, permanently dissatisfied.

In order to prevent the rebels from blocking the Kathmandu valley, the King placed his military along all important highways of the country; because the USA and India have given him in the last years an enormous amount of weaponry, helicopters and other death machines, he decided the time was ripe for him to assume power. Most countries, including the USA, immediately condemned the monarch for his autocratic step, but the fact is that the present situation might last for quite a long time.

Telephones are functioning again, although on the morning of the coup d'état the army had destroyed all relay stations for mobile phones; cell phones are anyhow forbidden by now, because they used to be the main means for students, political parties and rebels to organise demonstrations swiftly. Parties members of all shades and in large numbers fled to India were they plan to form a united party against the king. The rebels declared that there was no necessity at all for them to negotiate, since the monarchy was anyhow nearing its end.

Regarding our project everything is running smoothly as before, but big and the small ones have to learn to be careful about what they tell in school or on phone. In the slums, the children already look much better after enjoying good food for three months; Sija is managing the project with great success. She also looks after women who are in desperate circumstances.

A large section of the men has gone to Gulf States to earn money, and many of them are never heard of again; their wives later on only learn that they now live together with cheap female workers. The men who remain in the slums are mostly drunkards and gamble away the little money they have. The daily evening-fights leave traces on some of the women's faces, and Sija has to attend to the injuries next day. In the morning she attends an express training course for nurses, she already is able to stitch wounds quite well, and we pay all medical expenses for the children.

Young Sujit, who might have to undergo a heart operation in order to stay alive, was admitted for a week to the heart centre for the preliminary examinations. On the eve of the surgery his parents "kidnapped" him because they felt that this clinic would surely mean his death. Nobody was able to convince them that by their decision they themselves pronounced the death sentence on their son.

Our "big ones" and "small ones" in the Children's home actively take part in the work in the slums and look forward to every day off when they can teach the slum-children dancing, singing and various plays. At the moment all schools in Nepal are on vacation, but Sija does not want that her children stay away from the school too long, for afterwards the entire work has to be started anew

This time the caste of the nomads camped in the vicinity of the slums; we suspected that our 17 year old Sumitra might be a member of just this caste. We found her 12 years ago on the street where her parents had left her, because a baby-girl means one extra mouth to feed. She told us then, her name was Sumitra. We allotted her the family name Pandey, for the bearers of this name are almost equal to Brahmins in the Hindu-religion.

Sumitra is a warm-hearted good girl, who suffers much to have no parents. Therefore we took her to those nomads, and they recognized her at once as a member of their community because she has a hole at both sides of her nose - a distinct feature of the nomad caste of the "Maute". We asked them about their way of living and how they feel and Sumitra presented them with fruits and pastry. In this caste marriages are arranged in the baby-age, even though the real cohabitation takes place only 20 years later. Till then the children remain with their parents and never attend any school. Sumitra was very excited about this visit and she told all her "brothers and sisters" at the daily evening-gathering, how lucky she was to have been thrown out from her community by her parents.

Unless there is one of the frequent earthquake-alarms, as it happened this time, life is quite pleasant at Children's World; we often have visits from former pupils who now live outside and are working. Two are employed as computer experts, and three girls opened a tailoring-shop. Nanu joined us with 12 years as an illiterate girl. She later on passed her higher secondary school-leaving exam and now studies in university; at the same time she directs a project financed by Swiss donors to sink wells in villages, to enable children to attend school and to improve the living-standard of villagers.

All of us, we really can be proud of having achieved so much! We cannot yet tell how far the change of the political situation will be a hindrance to our work, but we shall continue at any rate, for now the children in Nepal need our help more than ever. Our heart-felt thanks to all of you, who support us in this important activity. Soon, in August-September you will get fresh news from Kathmandu.

Till then with love and wishing you all the best!

Elisabeth Montet

Kinderhilfe Nepal e.V.
- Rundbrief Mai 2005 -
Liebe Freunde,

am ersten Februar 2005, 9 Uhr, hat es für Nepal eine radikale Wende gegeben. Plötzlich waren alle Telefonleitungen tot, und King Gyanendra erschien im Fernsehen, um zu erklären, dass von jetzt an allein er die Macht aus- °' üben würde und für drei Jahre den Ausnahmezustand ausgerufen hätte. Alle Minister seien unter Hausarrest, viele Mitglieder verschiedener politischen Parteien schon verhaftet, und Er, der König, würde die Korruption im Lande abschaffen. Die maoistischen Rebellen, die immerhin, außer im Kathmandutal, fast in ganz Nepal herrschen, rief er zu Verhandlungen auf,

Es dürfen sich jetzt in Nepal nicht mehr als 3 Menschen auf der Straße versammeln, das Demonstrationsrecht ist abgeschafft sowie die Möglichkeit, sich frei zu äußern. Armee und Polizei dürfen jederzeit ohne Durchsuchungsbefehl in alle Häuser eindringen, Geld an sich nehmen und Menschen verhaften. Wenn man auf unabsehbarer Zeit keinen Kontakt mehr zu seiner Familie in Europa haben kann, wir uns, westlichen Menschen, in einer solchen Situation bewusst, welche Chance wir haben, in Ländern zu leben, in denen wir zwar immer unzufrieden sind, aber doch frei leben.

Um die Blockade des Kathmandutales durch die Rebellen zu verhindern, hat der König seine Armee entlang an allen wichtigen Hauptstraßen des Landes postiert, und da er in den letzten Jahren einen enormen Vorrat an Waffen, Hubschraubern und anderen Todesmaschinen von den USA und Indien geschenkt bekommen hatte, beschloss er, dass die Zeit für seine"Machtübernahme" reif war. Die meisten Länder, auch die USA, haben den Monarchen natürlich sofort verurteilt, aber Tatsache ist, dass die aktuelle Situation sehr lange dauern kann.

Das Telefon funktioniert inzwischen wieder, aber am Morgen des Putsches hat die Armee alle Relaisstationen für Mobiltelefone zerstört, und Handys sind ohnehin jetzt verboten, die früher das einzige Mittel für Studenten, politische Parteien und Rebellen waren, um schnell Demonstrationen zu organisieren. Viele Mitglieder aller Parteirichtungen sind nach Indien geflohen, wo sie versuchen, eine Einheitspartei gegen den König zu bilden. Die Rebellen haben erklärt, dass es für sie nicht in Frage käme, mit ihm zu verhandeln, denn die Monarchie sei ihrer Meinung nach sowieso am Ende.
In unserem Projekt läuft alles weiter wie bisher, aber Große und Kleine müssen lernen, in der Schule oder am Telefon vorsichtig in ihren Äußerungen zu sein.

In den Slums sehen die Kinder nach drei Monaten guter Nahrung schon viel besser aus, und Sija leitet das Projekt mit Erfolg. Sie kümmert sich auch um die Frauen, die in verzweifelten Situationen leben.
Ein großer Teil der Männer ist in die arabischen Golfstaaten gegangen, um Geld zu verdienen, aber viele von ihnen lassen nichts mehr von sich hören, und die Frauen erfahren irgendwann, dass sie sich mit weiblichen billigen Arbeitskräften zusammengetan haben. Die Männer, die in den Slums übrig bleiben, sind meistens betrunken und verspielen ihr bisschen Geld. Die abendlichen Prügeleien hinterlassen Spuren auf manchen Frauengesichtern, die Sija am nächsten Tag versorgen muss. Sie macht frühmorgens einen Schnellehrgang als Krankenschwester, kann schon sehr gut Wunden nähen, und wir bezahlen auch für die Kinder alle medizinische Kosten.

Der junge Sujit, der sich einer Herzoperation unterziehen müsste, um weiterleben zu können, ist eine Woche lang zu Voruntersuchungen im Herzzentrum aufgenommen worden. Am Tag vor dem Eingriff haben die Eltern ihn "entführt", weil sie der Meinung waren, dass diese Klinik ihm nur den Tod bringen würde. Niemand konnte sie überzeugen, dass sie selbst durch ihre Entscheidung ihren Sohn jetzt zum Tode verurteilt haben.

Unsere "Großen" und "Kleinen" vom Kinderhaus nehmen aktiv an der Arbeit in den Slums teil und freuen sich, an jedem freien Tag, den Kindern dort Tanzen, Singen und Spiele beizubringen. Im Moment haben alle Schulen Nepals Ferien, aber Sija möchte nicht, dass die Kinder so lange von ihrer Schule fernbleiben, weil die ganze Arbeit sonst wieder mühsam von neuem angefangen werden müsste.

Dieses Mal lagerte unweit von den Slums die Kaste der Nomaden, der - so vermuteten wir - unsere 17 jährige Sumitra angehört. Wir fanden sie vor 12 Jahren auf der Straße, wo ihre Eltern sie verlassen hatten, weil ein Mädchen ein Mund zuviel zu ernähren bedeutet. Ihr Name sei Sumitra, sagte sie damals. Wir gaben ihr den Familiennamen "Pandey", der von Menschen getragen wird, die in der hinduistischen Religion den Brahmanen fast ebenbürtig sind.

Sumitra ist ein herzliches, gutes Mädchen, das ungeheuer leidet, keine Eltern zu haben. Deshalb gingen wir mit ihr zusammen zu diesen Nomaden, die sie sofort als eine von ihnen erkannten, weil sie an beiden Nasenflügeln ein Loch hat, was nur die Nomadenkaste der "Maute" bezeichnet. Wir fragten sie, wie sie lebten und fühlten, und Sumitra schenkte ihnen 'Obst und Kekse. In dieser Kaste wird man als Baby verheiratet, auch wenn die echte Vereinigung erst mit 20 Jahren stattfindet. Solange bleiben die Kinder bei ihren Eltern und gehen nie zur Schule. Sumitra war aufgewühlt, und sagte all ihren "Geschwistern" abends bei der täglichen Versammlung, was für ein Glück sie doch gehabt hätte, von ihren Eltern verstoßen worden zu sein.

Wenn es gerade keinen Erdbebenalarm gibt, wie es dieses Mal wieder der Fall war, lässt es sich in Children's World gut leben, und wir bekommen oft Besuch von ehemaligen Kindern, die jetzt draußen wohnen und arbeiten. Zwei sind als Computerfachleute tätig, und drei Mädchen haben eine Schneiderwerkstatt aufgemacht. Nanu kam mit 12 Jahren als Analphabetin zu uns. Sie hat das Abitur geschafft, studiert weiter und leitet gleichzeitig ein Projekt, das von Schweizern finanziert wird und darin besteht, Brunnen in den Dörfern zu bohren, Kindern die Schule zu finanzieren und das Leben der Dorfbewohnern zu verbessern.

Wir können alle zusammen stolz sein, soviel Positives erreicht zu haben.
Inwiefern die neue politische Situation des Landes für unsere Arbeit hinderlich sein wird, wissen wir noch nicht, aber weitermachen werden wir auf alle Fälle, denn die nepalesischen Kinder brauchen jetzt unsere Hilfe mehr denn je. Herzlichen Dank an Sie alle, die uns so treu bei dieser Arbeit unterstützen, und bis bald im August-September mit Neuem aus Kathmandu.

Bis dahin: Alles Liebe und Gute!

Elisabeth Montet